Anthropic · First-party API · LLM

claude-opus-5

Capability changeCapability change announced Jul 24, 2026

2 notices

Capability change

Capability change announced Jul 24, 2026

Anthropic documents a capability change: “We've launched Claude Opus 5 (claude-opus-5), a step-change improvement over Claude Opus 4.8.”

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
Jul 24, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

platform.claude.com ↗
  • We've launched Claude Opus 5 (claude-opus-5), a step-change improvement over Claude Opus 4.8. Claude Opus 5 supports a 1M token context window (both the default and the maximum), 128k max output tokens, and thinking on by default, at $5 / $25 USD per MTok, the same pricing as Claude Opus 4.8. It's available on the Claude API, Claude in Amazon Bedrock , Claude Platform on AWS , Claude on Google Cloud , and Claude in Microsoft Foundry . See What's new in Claude Opus 5 for new features, behavior changes, and migration guidance, and the models overview for complete specs.

  • On Claude Opus 5, disabling thinking is allowed only at effort high or below: thinking: {"type": "disabled"} with effort xhigh or max returns a 400 error, a breaking change from Claude Opus 4.8. See What's new in Claude Opus 5 .

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON
Release announced

Released on Jul 24, 2026

Anthropic announced this model on 2026-07-24.

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
Jul 24, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

platform.claude.com ↗
  • We've launched Claude Opus 5 (claude-opus-5), a step-change improvement over Claude Opus 4.8.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON

Same model elsewhere

Each provider and hosting route sets its own dates.

claude-opus-5 lifecycle · ModelClock