OpenAI · First-party API · LLM

chat-latest

Capability changeCapability change announced Jun 24, 2026

3 notices

Capability change

Capability change announced Jun 24, 2026

OpenAI documents a capability change: “Update · Model: chat-latest Updated the chat-latest snapshot, which points to the latest Instant model currently used in ChatGPT.”

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
Jun 24, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

developers.openai.com ↗

Update · Model: chat-latest

Updated the chat-latest snapshot, which points to the latest Instant model currently used in ChatGPT. We recommend leveraging GPT-5.5 for production API usage, but feel free to use this model to test the latest improvements for chat use cases. The underlying model snapshot will be regularly updated. Read more here.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON
Release announced

Released on May 28, 2026

OpenAI announced this model on 2026-05-28.

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
May 28, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

developers.openai.com ↗

Released chat-latest snapshot which points to the latest Instant model currently used in ChatGPT.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON
Release announced

Released on May 5, 2026

OpenAI announced this model on 2026-05-05.

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
May 5, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

developers.openai.com ↗

Released chat-latest snapshot which points to the latest Instant model currently used in ChatGPT.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON