OpenAI · First-party API · LLM

gpt-5.6-luna

Capability changeCapability change announced Jul 30, 2026

2 notices

Capability change

Capability change announced Jul 30, 2026

OpenAI documents a capability change: “Update · Model: gpt-5.6-sol · Model: gpt-5.6-terra · Model: gpt-5.6-luna · API: v1/responses · API: v1/chat/completions Starting July 30, GPT-5.6 Luna costs…”

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
Jul 30, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

developers.openai.com ↗

Update · Model: gpt-5.6-sol · Model: gpt-5.6-terra · Model: gpt-5.6-luna · API: v1/responses · API: v1/chat/completions

Starting July 30, GPT-5.6 Luna costs 80% less, while GPT-5.6 Terra costs 20% less. See pricing details.

We're also introducing Fast mode in the API, which replaces our Priority Processing offering. For GPT-5.6 Sol, Fast mode now delivers up to 2.5× faster speeds than standard processing at twice the price. This change is backward compatible: requests tagged priority will automatically use Fast mode.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON
Release announced

Released on Jul 9, 2026

OpenAI announced this model on 2026-07-09.

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
Jul 9, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

developers.openai.com ↗

Feature · Model: gpt-5.6-sol · Model: gpt-5.6-terra · Model: gpt-5.6-luna · API: v1/responses · API: v1/chat/completions · API: v1/batch

Released the GPT-5.6 model family, including GPT-5.6 Sol for frontier capability, GPT-5.6 Terra for a balance of intelligence and cost, and GPT-5.6 Luna for efficient, high-volume workloads. The gpt-5.6 alias routes requests to gpt-5.6-sol.

GPT-5.6 adds Programmatic Tool Calling, explicit prompt caching controls, persisted reasoning, max reasoning effort, and Pro mode, and Multi-agent orchestration in beta for the Responses API. GPT-5.6 also accepts images at their original dimensions with original or auto image detail.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON

Same model elsewhere

Each provider and hosting route sets its own dates.