OpenAI · First-party API · LLM

gpt-5.6-sol

Capability changeCapability change announced Aug 21, 2026

4 notices

Capability change

Capability change announced Aug 21, 2026

OpenAI documents a capability change: “Update · Model: gpt-5.6-sol GPT-5.6 Sol now costs $4 per million input tokens and $20 per million output tokens, representing 20% lower input pricing and…”

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
Aug 21, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

developers.openai.com ↗

Update · Model: gpt-5.6-sol

GPT-5.6 Sol now costs $4 per million input tokens and $20 per million output tokens, representing 20% lower input pricing and 33% lower output pricing. GPT-5.6 Sol’s promotional pricing is available at least through November 21, 2026. See pricing details.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON
Capability change

Capability change announced Aug 13, 2026

OpenAI documents a capability change: “Aug 13 Announcement Announced Ultrafast mode, a new API service tier for GPT-5.6 Sol that runs up to 14x faster than Standard processing.”

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
Aug 13, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

developers.openai.com ↗

Aug 13

Announcement

Announced Ultrafast mode, a new API service tier for GPT-5.6 Sol that runs up to 14x faster than Standard processing. Available in limited preview to select customers. Sign up to receive updates on Ultrafast mode here.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON
Capability change

Capability change announced Aug 5, 2026

OpenAI documents a capability change: “Update · Model: gpt-5.6-sol · Model: gpt-5.6-terra · Model: gpt-5.6-luna Fast mode now supports long-context requests for GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, and…”

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
Aug 5, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

developers.openai.com ↗

Update · Model: gpt-5.6-sol · Model: gpt-5.6-terra · Model: gpt-5.6-luna

Fast mode now supports long-context requests for GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, and GPT-5.6 Luna. As of today, long-context prompts exceeding 272K tokens can run in Fast mode, delivering speeds up to 2.5× faster than the Standard tier. See pricing details.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON
Release announced

Released on Jul 9, 2026

OpenAI announced this model on 2026-07-09.

Hosting route
First-party API
Affected scope
Not stated in the notice
Announced
Jul 9, 2026
First seen by ModelClock
Oct 3, 2026

What the provider published

developers.openai.com ↗

Feature · Model: gpt-5.6-sol · Model: gpt-5.6-terra · Model: gpt-5.6-luna · API: v1/responses · API: v1/chat/completions · API: v1/batch

Released the GPT-5.6 model family, including GPT-5.6 Sol for frontier capability, GPT-5.6 Terra for a balance of intelligence and cost, and GPT-5.6 Luna for efficient, high-volume workloads. The gpt-5.6 alias routes requests to gpt-5.6-sol.

GPT-5.6 adds Programmatic Tool Calling, explicit prompt caching controls, persisted reasoning, max reasoning effort, and Pro mode, and Multi-agent orchestration in beta for the Responses API. GPT-5.6 also accepts images at their original dimensions with original or auto image detail.

Read from the provider's text; the quote is the provider's exact lines.

Revision history

Loading…
Raw history JSON

Same model elsewhere

Each provider and hosting route sets its own dates.